My thoughts…

I have had so much on my mind and honestly, I need to start writing this stuff down!! Its really getting crazy lol….

My quote for today!!!!

“I am a feminist, and what that means to me is much the same as the meaning of the fact that I am Black: it means that I must undertake to love myself and to respect myself as though my very life depends upon self-love and self-respect.”

~June Jordan

This quote stirred so much inside of me today that I had to write a post on it! Everyday on my Facebook page, I post a quote about motivation or some type of inspirational context and because it is Black History month I have vowed to post a quote by an African American. I have come across so many inspirational quotes and motivational tools while I have been on this journey.

This quote tells me that just like I am proud to be an African American….I should carry myself like I am proud to be a WOMAN! It should tell any woman that whatever color or race or creed, you should be proud to carry yourself like  woman in the same way that you are proud to be an American…or a Chinese American…or a South Carolinian. We should never be disgusted so much with ourselves that we forget what we are or where our ancestors came from and what that all represents.

Ms. June Jordan was a Caribbean-American poet and committed activist among other things. She played a very important role in the development of black artistic, social, and politic movementsShe is also known as one of the most significant and prolific black, bisexual writers of the 20th century. Self-love was a very important topic to her and it reflected itself in everything that she did.

~Lohnnie Cakes

About Soul Spark

Thank you so much for visiting my page! Soul Spark View all posts by Soul Spark

Leave a Reply

